Von Willebrand Disease - VWD

Von Willebrand disease (VWD) is the most common inherited bleeding disorder and is classified into three major types.   Types 1 and 3 VWD involve quantitative deficiencies in von Willebrand factor (VWF); these deficiencies are less severe in type 1 (the most common type) and more severe in type 3.   Type 2 VWD involves qualitative abnormalities in VWF and includes subtypes 2A, 2B, 2M, and 2N.   Acquired VWD can also occur,  although it is rare. A broad range of clinical bleeding is associated with VWD.   Although no single laboratory test can be used to diagnose VWD, the initial panel of tests typically includes VWF antigen, VWF factor activity (ie, ristocetin cofactor activity [VWF:RCo]), and factor VIII (FVIII) activity tests. These tests should be performed if VWD is suspected.   Additional tests may be indicated for subtyping or genetic counseling.

Tabs Content
Content Review: 
February 2019

Last Update: October 2019